29
Dec
10

Random Episode Review – Homer vs. the Eighteenth Amendment

“Homer vs. the Eighteenth Amendment” definitely isn’t one of my favorite episodes, but it a decent episode and I enjoyed re-watching it.

I liked the beginning with the family celebrating St. Patrick’s Day (I love Marge’s green hair), and Bart getting drunk, bringing out the Helen Lovejoy (Won’t Somebody Please Think of the Children?!) in every Springfield resident (except for the alcoholics) to ban alcohol.

I enjoyed the historical reference in the episode; the real Prohibition from the 1920s (it was said to be prohibited in the 1790s as this episode states incorrectly), and I, as a history buff, enjoyed the spotlight. The funniest scenes in the episode were with Homer & Bart using the bootlegging process to give beer to Moe’s Tavern, I just loved the expressions by the two and their actions, gave a big laugh out of me. I also liked the appearance of Rex Banner, but he (certainly) wasn’t the best one-time character and guest appearance. He annoyed me a little, but I enjoyed the letter (or something else, I can’t remember at the moment) from his mother that he receives.

I am a little so-so on the ending, it was okay, but not the greatest. I’d say that it was an average end for an average episode … although I liked the joke that the Prohibition law was repealed one year after it was put into place (correctly).

Oh, honey, you’re not the world’s worst mother. Remember that freezer lady in Georgia?

Judy

0 Responses to “Random Episode Review – Homer vs. the Eighteenth Amendment”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

